Pumpkin Cookies

I made pumpkin cookies on Thursday. I was going to make my favorite peanut butter chip cookies, but it was pouring down rain, cold as can be, and the world was crying for pumpkin cookies. If my pumpkin bread signals the start of fall, pumpkin cookies signal the full-on arrival of the heart of fall. I remember coming home from school to these cookies on the table and words can’t describe the amount of nostalgia that comes with these babies!

I have only made them on my own a few times. I have trouble with the shortening. It isn’t a flavor problem because there is nothing problematic about the flavor in these guys. It is a texture and cleanup problem. Shortening makes such a mess and is such a pain to get off of spoons, scrapers, or basically anything it touches. I was reminded of this when i was trying desperately to get the shortening off my kitchen sink for about 20 minutes, but I have to admit that it was worth all the trouble.

Also worth noting is the cooking time. I am going to put the recipe down as my mom gave it to me, but I will mention here that I cooked them for about 9 extra minutes. I am not sure if it is the fact that my stove is a rotten child that turns off and beeps and generally isn’t the best, but they kept coming out smooshy. They are supposed to come out smooshy, but they are supposed to cool into fully cooked, soft, mushie cookies. In order to get that I had to cook them for the 14 minutes the recipe calls for and then put them back in for 9 minutes. Try it out, see how it goes, but don’t say I didn’t warn you!

here it is:

Mushy, Gooshy Pumpkin Cookies

1 cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups flour

1teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

(i add a bit of pumpkin pie seasoning because I like mine a bit spicy)

1) Preheat oven to 350. Grease two cookies sheets or line them with parchment paper (my favorite!)

2) cream together the shortening (i measure out 16 tablespoons because it is easier to get out of the container), sugar, egg, pumpkin, and vanilla.

3) In separate medium bowl combine salt, flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and pumpkin pie seasoning.

4) Add dry to wet ingredients and mix until the batter is about the consistency of whipped cream.

5) Drop on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes.

6) Let cool completely before eating. Kyle didn’t wait. His belly suffered the consequences.

IMG_9192

IMG_9193

IMG_9195

Leave a Reply

