Brownie Pumpkin Pie

Wow. Okay, so I know I said this would be a cooking blog all about my learning to cook, but let’s be honest folks… I’m not really cooking. I am doing some basics. I cook the same 5-8 things over and over and that’s about it! I am trying. I am gathering recipes and I think that is definitely a good start, don’t you? To make up for my lack of cooking though, I have been baking! OH have I been baking! I am house-sitting for my parents this week so I have a MUCH bigger kitchen, better stove, better pots, and generally very exciting things to work with! I have a list of 25-30 recipes I definitely want to cook/bake RIGHT NOW, so I figure this week is a good time to do it.

I want to start the week off with a great, VERY simple recipe I came across online and have changed around a little. IT is pumpkin, so really, I don’t need to say any more. I usually don’t make things that I can’t eat, but the was a very worthy exception. I am allergic to chocolate, so I generally am a little limited in what to bake. This recipe opened the door to my open-minded baking. No more limitations for things I can’t eat. Just because I can’t enjoy it, why should I prevent other people from enjoying it, right?

So here we go…

the pie

BROWNIE PUMPKIN PIE

adapted from Picky Palate

One pie crust (you can make your own, but I used Marie Callendar’s deep dish crust)

1 box brownie mix (8×8 inch size)

1/2 Cup pumpkin (I used Libby’s canned pumpkin. NOT PUMPKIN PIE STARTER…)

1/8 Cup granulated sugar

1/8 Cup evaporated milk

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 egg beaten (i know, it is awkward, but i beat the egg then poured half into the mix)

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Follow directions on pie crust for pudding or prebaked pie to prepare the crust. Most advise that you thaw for 10 minutes, poke holes in bottom of the crust and then bake for 15 minutes.

2. Put together the brownie mix you have chosen. Set aside

3.  In a medium bow, mix the remaining ingredients- pumpkin, egg, milk, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, until combined.

4. Pour brownie batter into pie crust. Top with pumpkin pie mixture and swirl edges to mix brownie and pumpkin. Depending upon the brownie mix, your filling should come to the top of your crust. I chose not to mix the way Picky Palate did, so it makes a bit of a different mix of flavors for each bite.

5. Bake until toothpick comes out clean. Mine took about 55 minutes, but Picky Palate said 38 minutes. I think it depends on the depth of your mixture (my brownies were a little taller than the other mixes, so perhaps that accounts for the time difference).

6. Let cool completely and serve with cool whip.

ingredients

mixes

IMG_9163

Leave a Reply

