It’s time…

Okay, so I think it’s time for a recipe post!

The best place to start is with a very un-family secret style recipe. I got the recipe from Lena Corwin via Design*Sponge I make a few alterations, so I am posting my version of the recipe with that link going directly to Lena’s version.

But more importantly, first I would like to give the story behind it. Lena posted this recipe on her site and Design*Sponge at the beginning of my baking stage. I was just starting to learn the basics and this seemed at the time to be a complicated recipe. First of all, it was mixed by hand…. BY HAND! This was foreign to me for a good year and a half. I thought everything baked should involve a mixer. I didn’t know flour should be sifted. I didn’t measure exactly. I didn’t really know the difference between cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice. I thought they were all about the same. Really, I was clueless. I am slightly more in the know now and I have this recipe to thank.

This is my official “welcome to fall recipe.” It is a really basic pumpkin bread that can include cranberries, nuts, raisins, or chocolate. For the last two years (and hopefully every year to come) I make this on the first day of fall. It is that good. It is that spiced. It is that pumpkiny. It exudes fall in every way and I am all for anything fall!

It is a perfect basic baking recipe. It takes things that most bakers (or beginning bakers) have on hand. It is cut and dry and as far as I have noticed, impossible to mess up too badly.

So here it is, I hope you like it as much as I do!!

“Welcome to Fall” Pumpkin Bread

This fills two standard loaf pans pretty generously.

• 1- 3 / 4 cup canned pumpkin
• 2/3 cup butter, melted
• 3 cups sugar
• 4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla
• 3-1/2 cups flour
• 1 tsp cinnamon
• 1 tsp nutmeg
• 1 / 2 tsp cloves
• 2 tsp baking soda
• 2 tsp baking powder
• 1 / 2 tsp salt
• 2/3 cup water
• 1 / 2 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F/180C degrees. Combine the eggs, pumpkin, butter, vanilla and water in a large bowl. In another VERY LARGE bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in the larger bowl (it makes a lot of batter), and mix with a wooden spoon by hand. Mix until the batter is combined, but don’t over mix. Grease the pans, and distribute the batter equally in the pans. I fill one with regular batter then add the chocolate chips to rest to make one loaf plain pumpkin and one chocolate chip pumpkin.  Bake for 1 hour or until a poker comes out clean!

Be sure to cool adequately…

(the camera died about halfways through so there is a big chunk of preparation time unaccounted for… enjoy!)

em recipe lookup

spices

loaf

loaves

Leave a Reply

